*Mission & History of the LWVTC
*Nonpartisan Policy
*Local Programs/Positions
*Membership Information
*Women's Equality Day
* Archives - Local Voter/Voter Information Guide
*Contact Your Lawmakers




September 2018
16171819 202122

Click Here for Full Calendar

Members List:

Peggy Boyd
1st Vice President:
Mary Hoke
2nd Vice President:
Kirsten Burkey
Sandy Mahaffey
Pam Hallett
Linda Baer Bigley
Terri Crabbs
Meribeth Feher
Rosemary Grayson
Joanne Siembieda
Dorothy Sideropolis
Susan Smith
Terri Crabbs

Helpful Links

Trumbull Co. Board of Elections

First Time Voter Guide

LWV of Ohio

LWV of United States

Ohio Secretary of State

Trumbull Co. Government Offices

Trumbull Co. Bar Association

Advance Northeast Ohio

Ohio Federation of Women's Clubs

Project Vote Smart

Mahoning River Consortium

Ohio Government Information

Mission & History of the LWVTC
Click here to edit your pageClick here to go to your office


"The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy."


Carrie Chapman Catt founded the League of Women Voters in 1920 during the convention of the National American Woman Suffrage Association. The convention was held just six months before the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution was ratified, giving women the right to vote after a 72-year struggle that began at Seneca Falls in 1848.

The League began as a "mighty political experiment" designed to help 20 million women carry out their new responsibilities as voters. It encouraged them to use their new power to participate in shaping public policy. From the beginning, the League was an activist, grassroots organization whose leaders believed that citizens should play a critical role in advocacy. It was then, and is now, a nonpartisan organization. League founders believed that maintaining a nonpartisan stance would protect the fledgling organization from becoming mired in the party politics of the day. However, League members were encouraged to be political themselves, by educating citizens about, and lobbying for, government and social reform legislation.

This holds true today. The League is proud to be nonpartisan, neither supporting nor opposing candidates or political parties at any level of government, but always working on vital issues of concern to members and the public. The League has a long, rich history, that continues with each passing year.

In 1971, Representative Bella Abzug was able to get a Congressional Resolution passed that designated August 26th as Women's Equality Day to commemorate the passage of the 19th Amendment, the Woman Suffrage Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

The League of Women Voters of Warren was founded in 1940, sponsored by the Warren Conservative League. The first president was Mrs. W.O. Kaufman, who served from 1940 through 1942.

In 1977, our name and membership area was changed to The League of Women Voters of Trumbull County.

To protect the League of Women Voters’ nonpartisan policy, the President and Voter Service Chair of any League, be it local, state or national refrains from active party work during their term in office.


Mrs. W.O. Kaufman 1940 – 1942

Mrs. Clarence Klinger 1943 – 1946

Mrs. M.T. Knappenberger 1947 – 1948

Mrs. William Polay 1948 – 1950

Mrs. W.H. Fram 1951 – 1952

Mrs. B.E. Marquis (Mattie) 1957 – 1962

Mrs. Robert Morton (Janet) 1963 – 1964

Mrs. M.S. Terwillinger 1965 – 1966

Mrs. Fred George (Helen) 1967 – 1968

Mrs. Charles Curtiss 1968 – 1969

Mrs. Ralph Crank 1969 – 1970

Mrs. John Augenstein (Barbara) 1971 – 1972

Mrs. Joyce Masters 1972 – 1973

Mrs. Herbert Freeman (Mimi) 1973 – 1974

Mrs. Louise Lefkort 1974 – 1975

Mrs. Kay Brodbeck 1975 – 1976

Mrs. Ann Chadwick 1977 – 1978

Mrs. Dorothy Mettler 1979 – 1980

Mrs. Beverly Gartland 1981 - 1983

Mrs. Sophie Romack 1989 – 1990

Mrs. Fran Wilson 1991 – 1992

Mrs. Velia Baba 1993 – 1995

Mrs. Helene Seifert 1996 – 1997

Mrs. Christine Legow 1998 – 1999

Mrs. Louise Lefkort/Mrs. Fran Wilson 2000 – 2001

Mrs. Fran Wilson 2001 – 2007

Mrs. Terri Crabbs 2007 - 2011

Ms. Janice Hardman 2011 - 2013

Ms. Charlotte Meloni 2013-2017

Current President - Ms. Peggy Boyd

1909 Visitors  Mission & History of the LWVTC | Nonpartisan Policy | Local Programs/Positions | Membership Information | Women's Equality Day | Archives - Local Voter/Voter Information Guide
Contact Your Lawmakers | HOME | WRITE US